RubySprinkles does Ruby Red Slippers by Deborah Lippmann

Hello lovelies!  I love going through my stash and finding polish I forgot I had.  This was the case with the polish I am showcasing today, Ruby Red Slippers by Deborah Lippmann.

Ruby Red SlippersRuby Red Slippers LabelI think I got this polish through a promo on Gilt.  Or as I like to call it after I’ve shopped: Guilt.  I always find way too much stuff.  But I digress.

 

 

Ruby Red Slippers is a black jelly base with small and large red glitter.  I found that for complete opacity, I needed three coats.

Ruby Red Slippers Mani Ruby Red Slippers Macro

 

 

 

 

 

 

The glitter was a little lumpy.  Nothing a nice top coat didn’t smooth out though.  I like the vampy-ness of this polish.  I’ve seen a polish that seems to be the same idea but with green glitter; Bad Mogwai by I Love Nail Polish.  I’d really like to see what it’d look like together with Ruby Red Slippers for a vampy Christmas mani.

As for Ruby Red Slippers, I’d have to give it a 3 out of 5.  It was a bit hard to get good glitter coverage, and it did take three coats for full opacity.  Formula-wise, it was on par with other Lippmanns.  Next time, I think I’ll do a black basecoat so I don’t have to put on so many layers.

Have a great weekend, all!

Leave a Reply

