A Little Different Mani Monday

Hello lovelies!  Today’s post is going to be a little different.  I have something I have to get off my chest, but I promise I’ll follow with my regular Mani Monday in this post.

Today the Supreme Court of the United States ruled 5-4 that companies can receive an exemption from the birth-control mandate provisioned by the Affordable Healthcare Act.  The ruling stems from Hobby Lobby and Conestoga Wood Specialties contesting having to cover birth-control based on religious beliefs.  The only thing I can find to be glad about is that the ruling was at least close.  I support religious freedom, but I also put people’s health above religion.  When you look at most things, I suspect that most people value health above religion.  You cannot overlook any kind of harm or abuse that is labeled as a religious act.  And that is what this is, a harm to women’s health.  Certain birth-control methods are used for other things.  I was on birth-control pills for a long time to manage my heavy periods, and later I took them to help manage my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome.  Now it seems that I probably have endometriosis.  My physician informed me that my Mirena IUD is used to help manage endometriosis.  As I understand the ruling, these things may not be covered if the employer my insurance is through decides that they don’t believe in birth-control due to religious beliefs.  I also believe that I would be able to get them covered for my medical issues, but it would take filling out and filing paperwork – basically jumping through hoops.

I read that the companies said they supported birth-control such as some pills, condoms, and sterilization procedures.   Pills and procedures would fall under birth-control as far as insurance is concerned.  How can you single out certain methods?  I also want to note that basic birth-control pills are relatively cheap – I think when I was had no insurance, I was paying about $15/month for the generic, standard birth-control pills.  Sterilization procedures would be a one-time expense, provided it went as planned.  To me it sounds like they approve the methods that would not be of much cost to them.  I had insurance at the time I had my IUD placed, and did not have to pay anything out-of-pocket.  I have no idea how much they cost to be placed, but I would bet that it’s not cheap.

Alright, that’s my opinion of the latest SCOTUS ruling.  On to something happier – Mani Monday!

In the VoxBox that I posted about last Friday, I received a bottle of Sinful Colors in Ocean View.  I decided to use that for my Mani Monday manicure.
Ocean View with Nail Junkie

I used Sinful Colors in Nail Junkie for the accent nail.  Quite appropriate I think, yes?

Leave a Reply

