Who’s a Dupe? – Turquoise Polish Edition

Hello lovelies!  Today as I was trying to revive an older polish, I realized that I have a lot of other polishes that were similar.  So today I present Who’s a Dupe?: Turquoise Creme Edition.

Turquoise Creme
The creme polishes I am comparing are China Glaze in For Audrey, OPI in Mermaid’s Tears, Sally Hansen Insta-Dry in 140 – In a Splash, Avon in Jade, mark. in Mojito, and Sugar Kiss (an E.L.F. brand) in Mint Creme.

Turquoise Swatches
I was a bit surprised that the Sugar Kiss polish wasn’t lighter than it was.  It looks suspiciously similar to Mermaid’s Tears.

Sugar Kiss vs OPI
Swatched next to each other, there’s a slight difference in the green tone.  But I wouldn’t say it was noticeable enough, so I’ll call dupe alert.

I also thought that the Avon and Sally Hansen polishes looked very close in shade as well.

SH vs Avon
The Sally Hansen is just a tad darker, but again, I’ll call it a dupe.  I prefer the Avon formula, In a Splash was the polish I was working on thinning out when I started this turquoise endeavor.

While going through my stash, I noticed I have a lot of shiny turquoise colors as well.

Shiny Turquoise

Just for fun, I swatched them.

Shiny Swatches

From left to right is butter London in Two-Fingered Salute, Revlon Parfumerie in Wintermint, LA Splash in Golden Seahorse, China Glaze in Metallic Muse, and Sally Hansen HD in 03 – Pixel Pretty.

I liked the minty smell of the Wintermint.  It was not obnoxious and subsided after a while.  After about 5 hours had passed, I sniffed again – the minty smell was still there, but I had to get the swatch very close to my nose.

All in all, I’d say that there isn’t too much of a difference in a few of the creme polishes: Sally Hansen and Avon fall more in the green turquoise range, OPI and Sugar Kiss more in the grey range, mark. is a bit lighter than the others, and China Glaze is more blue-toned.

~ Carol “RubySprinkles”

Leave a Reply

