Hello and (Belated) Mani Monday

Hello lovelies and welcome to my blog!  Being my first post, I’d like to introduce myself and share my visions for this blog.

RubySprinkles is my handle across most of the internet, but you guys can call me Carol.  I’m 28 with a wonderful husband, Richard, a 4-year-old daughter, Elizabeth, and several pet mice and rats.  Elizabeth shares my passion for nail polish pretties, so I’m sure she’ll be wanting to share her manis every once in awhile as well.  I am currently a full-time housewife pursuing my first degree online in Marketing Management.  Hopefully I’ll be graduating next March – fingers crossed!

My goal with this blog is to share my adventures – both in life and in nail polish.  I’ll be trying to do at least two features: Mani Monday and Foodie Friday.  The idea for Mani Monday is to branch out from my existing one-color boredom and to share some of my untried polish as well as provide honest reviews about brands and colors I come across.  It is almost tradition that we go out for dinner on Friday nights, usually going to a different place each week.  The idea for Foodie Friday came to me when sitting at a highly-rated restaurant thinking, “How did this get so many stars?”

With that we’ll move on to Mani Monday which was postponed yesterday due to not finding my light box, being super late, etc., etc.

I messed around with stamping again.  Stamping is a type of nail art.  For stamping you need a metal plate with images engraved on it, nail polish suitable for stamping (the polish used for the image needs to be opaque enough to be visible), a scraper (used to scrape excess polish off of the image plate), and a stamping tool (a stick with curved, squishy rubber bits on the end.)

StampingTools

Image

Pictured above are all the tools I used for my design and a close up of the stamping plate I used – Bundle Monster plate 221.  I always begin by prepping my nails with OPI Chip Skip and ORLY Bonder.  Since my base color is a neon yellow, I started with one coat of Wet ‘n Wild French White Creme.  Next, I applied two coats of Sinful Colors Neon Melon.  For the stamped design, I used FingerPaints Pink Perspective.  I finished up with a topcoat – butter London PD Quick Topcoat.

Mani

 

This is the design in my lightbox.  The topcoat made the design streak.  On this particular manicure, I kind of like it.  I think it makes the design more of a batik look.

 

Natural Light Mani

This is the best natural light photo I can get.  The sun has been hiding from us the last few days.

This is my third or fourth time attempting stamping and only my second successful attempt.  I would rate stamping as 4 out of 5 on a difficulty scale.

What do you think?  Would you try stamping?

~Carol “RubySprinkles”

Leave a Reply

